The Friend Wheel Application on Facebook

Being an active user of Facebook and a developer of sorts I like to take a look at the immense sea of applications which the Facebook platform is churning out. One such application is the “Friend Wheel”. It creates a nice wheel showing all your friends and how they are connected.

Lets take a look here’s my friend wheel. You can see at the bottom left my friends know each other quite well because the area is quite thick with interconnected green lines. I’ve got about 113 total friends.

Here’s another friend wheel of someone who has a lot of friends. My sister has 400+ friends. The friends on the wheel are more interconnected than my wheel showing that her friends circle is more close knit (benefits of being born into the college facebook generation ?).

Nice representation isn’t it? How would the wheel look like for a person like Robert Scoble who has 4400 friends ? An interesting thought.

One comment

  1. You are so much like me, or i’m like you, well anyway, if we knew each other we’d make a good team, hehe, keep up the good work

